Skip to content
Curtin University of Technology
Media Releases 2012

Curtin Sarawak students and staff honoured for outstanding accomplishments

Miri – 4 May 2012 - Students and staff of Curtin University, Sarawak Malaysia (Curtin Sarawak) were honoured with awards and scholarships for their outstanding accomplishments at the university’s annual Award & Scholarship Ceremony recently.

88 awards and 66 scholarships were presented at the glittering dinner event at the Miri Marriott Resort & Spa, which was attended by more than 200 guests. They included the recipients and their family members, award sponsors, Curtin University’s Acting Chancellor Chris Bennett and Vice Chancellor Professor Jeanette Hacket, and senior management staff and members of the campus council and management board of Curtin Sarawak.

In addition to those making it onto the Vice Chancellor’s List and completing their stint in the prestigious John Curtin Leadership Academy, students were recognised for academic achievement in various disciplines, best subject and research papers, best design projects, outstanding performance in competitions, as well as participation in extracurricular activities and community service. Staff members, meanwhile, received awards for professional excellence.

Curtin Sarawak campus council chairman Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr George Chan Hong Nam, in his occasional address, said the quest for excellence can serve a larger purpose.

“In continuing to promote the culture of learning and the quest for excellence, Curtin Sarawak transforms the lives of individuals and society as a whole. Like any great university, we will be measured by our contribution to society, the country and the world,” said the former Sarawak Deputy Chief Minister. 

He added that there have been a lot of changes within Curtin Sarawak in recent years, and the impacts of the changes are quite significant for the entire university community. With the continued progress and growth of the university, he urged the staff and students to look beyond the extrinsic changes of new infrastructure and facilities and delve into the deeper, more enduring intrinsic changes that the university has undergone. 

“Inevitably, the heart, mind and soul of the university have grown. It is these qualities that will see us through to the future,” he remarked.

Earlier, Pro Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Kerr, in his welcoming speech, said he was impressed by the level of scholastic achievement among the student awardees and the strength of their commitment to their studies.

“Your excellence reminds me why a good education is so important for all of us. It can make a difference in one’s life and make a huge impact on the community. It can help students develop greater understanding and appreciation of the world around them, develop a positive work ethic, and strengthen their problem-solving and critical thinking skills,” he said.

According to Professor Kerr, the annual awards are more prestigious now that the selection process has been significantly enhanced, and the value of the awards in most cases increased. This makes them more meaningful to both the winners and the award sponsors.

He urged the 29 sponsors to extend their support beyond awards and scholarships, and sponsorship of events. He said they support the university in many other ways, including funding buildings, research chairs, teaching and learning programmes, and leadership and entrepreneurship development programmes. 

This year’s award sponsors were ACCA Malaysia, Bintulu Development Authority, GippsTAFE, CIMA, CPA Australia, Crowe Horwath, Ernst & Young, Halliburton Energy Services (M) Sdn. Bhd., HSBC Bank Malaysia Berhad, Institution of Engineers Malaysia Miri, KPMG, Miri Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Miri City Council, Murphy Sarawak Oil Co. Ltd., PETRONAS, Polar Light Sdn. Bhd., Sarawak Information Systems Sdn. Bhd., Samling Group of Companies, Sarawak Higher Education Foundation, Shell Malaysia, Shin Yang Group of Companies, Tokuyama Malaysia Sdn. Bhd., Wan Ullok Jugah Chin & Co. Advocates, Wehaya Sdn. Bhd., Yayasan Sarawak and Zecon Berhad.

Datuk Patinggi Dr. Chan; Assistant Minister of Sport and Assistant Minister of Communication Datuk Dr. Lee Kim Shin, who is also chairman of Curtin Sarawak’s Management Board; and former State Assembly Speaker Dato Sri Celestine Ujang Anak Jilan, who is a member of the Curtin Sarawak Campus Council, also sponsored awards.

Scholarships presented during the dinner included the Curtin University Scholarships for Undergraduate Degree and Higher Degree by Research; the Pro Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarships for international students, the Dean’s Scholarship for Business; the Bill Nichols Scholarship for Engineering; and the Western Australia Premier’s Scholarship.

For more information on Curtin Sarawak, visit its website at or e-mail to Curtin Sarawak can also be found on Facebook at

Vice Chancellor Professor Jeanette Hacket with one of the award sponsors.

Over 200 attended the dinner event.

Pro Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Kerr giving his welcoming speech.

Professor Ian Kerr presenting a staff member his award.

Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr George Chan delivering his occasional address.

L-R) Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr George Chan, Chris Bennett, Professor Jeanette Hacket, Professor Ian Kerr.